Diamond Guide for Purchasing Quality Diamonds

Know the Diamond, 4Cs

Learn all about the 4Cs of diamond quality—cut, color, clarity, and carat weight. Our guide helps you understand what these are and how to evaluate them when buying a diamond. Get a look at the 4Cs 

Diamond color

Every diamond is novel and has specific qualities that establish its value. The D-to-Z diamond color-grading system measures the degree of colorlessness by comparing the stone under controlled lighting and precise viewing conditions to develop an excellent color value.

Diamond clarity

Diamond Clarity Refers to the Absence of Inclusions and Blemishes. To evaluate diamond clarity, determine the relief, nature of the piece, number, size, and position of these characteristics and how these affect the stone's overall appearance. When we say the diamond is perfectly pure, the closer it comes to perfection, the higher its value.



Diamonds are renowned for their ability to transmit light and sparkle so intensely. A diamond's cut is often perceived as different shapes like round, heart, oval, marquise, or pear, but a diamond's cut grade is measured by how well a diamond's facets interact with light.

Diamond carat weight

Diamond prices tend to increase with diamond carat weight because the more extensive the diamond, the rare and more desirable, and so the price. But two diamonds of equal carat weight shall have different prices depending on three other factors of the diamond's 4Cs: Clarity, Color, and Cut.